153 and the first post of many

Good morning. So, um, this is  today’s reading.

John 21:1-25: Jesus and the Miraculous Catch of Fish, and the Reinstatement of Peter.

It spoke to me in a weird way. Unlike the usual come-follow-me or feed-my-sheep or serve-your-fellow message, what I got was: go and write!

‘It is Jesus!’  said the disciples.

It is Him, and declaring His life in yours, so write!

Peter got out of the boat.

You scared? Do as he did. Dive into the water (er keyboard) and write!

Jesus asked the disciples, (who by the way were out all night catching nothing), to let out their nets. They did, and caught 153 pieces of fish!

If it was 153 readers in your lifetime, that’s still 153 that’s supposed to be your ‘tribe’, as Jeff Goins would refer to your unique readers. Go catch them!

And the story continues. ‘Simon do you love me?’ asked Jesus. Repeat 3X. Ohyeah? Then go and ‘Feed my sheep.’

(By now you can guess how this translates in my bizarre hermeneutics, right?) Go. Feed the tribe with your writing! See what I mean?

Nonetheless, nothing prepared me for this clincher: when Peter asked, ‘Lord, what about [John]?’ Substitute that with any item on my long list of alibis and voila — What about him? or her? Surely they have better things to say! What about this? or that? Am I to neglect life’s duties just so I could sit down and type? Show me a clear answer before I follow!

Jesus simply said ‘What is that to you? You must follow me.’ Boom!

And so, this brings me to my very first post on WordPress. Scared and disobedient, no more.

9 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I hope to see many more posts from you Jing!

  2. Loving this, Jing! It’s about about losing the fear and then having faith, isn’t it. 🙂

  3. I love the way your mind works. :p Fun post! Congratulations on starting your blog! I’ll be back to read more. 🙂

  4. Love it Jinay!! Love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

